Mat Leave Edit.

So the time has come and I’m finally on MAT leave. Let me tell you its the most surreal feeling ever, I feel a little in limbo & a little lazy. I think you’ve been so programmed to working or having things to do it’s just very, very strange. I literally counted down hours until this time at the end, but it’s odd. You’re on your own, you know your life is about to change and you have absolutely no idea how and yet all you can think is…. “shit I really need to clean the light bulbs in the spare room?!” πŸ˜‚
I have cleaned all the windows inside and out, bleached my bloody front door, gutted the kitchen, bathrooms and every possible drawer of clutter, skirtings, light fitting & made a Christmas cake…. it’s been 6 days! Oh I’ve also had a manicure and got my brows done! Wtf am I supposed to do for the next possible 4 weeks?!

Everyone I speak to (especially my Mum) keeps telling me to rest and enjoy the laziness well you still can. Nap and watch TV, but you can’t just do that everyday I’m constantly so anxious, like “oh was that a contraction” or “has she moved today?!” 

Not only that but my waistline will not allow for another 4 weeks of sitting and binging on Scandal – Ive never had an appetite quite like it. πŸ™Š I’m eating quicker and more than Jamie at the moment & that’s no easy task πŸ˜‚

I’ve recently taken back to yoga – just super easy moves and a tiny bit of meditation, apparently you can breathe yourself into labour. πŸ€” Don’t worry I’m not going to start wearing clothes made of wheat and only eat things that have fallen from trees! But, I will try anything to make the next few weeks as bareable as possible! 

Anyway weekly catch up; 

Symptoms – Insommnia 😴 Averaging 4 hours a night & 58 pillows. I think Jamie may end up sleeping on an air bed soon. 😬

Also, aches and pains everywhere. Like I’ve done a super hard workout but I haven’t – I think it’s just the sheer weight of me now me legs have just given up. 

Bambino – Now I think she’s dropped. Last midwife I was measuring smaller than my weeks because she said her head was in my pelvis. Her movements are still there just a lot bigger I guess because she’s a fully grown baby that should just come now so we can meet her & stop taking up valuable room for her Mum! πŸ˜…

New Purchases – Ummmmmm…. people who know me know I’m a little bit of a shopaholic! So for me, I’ve purchased some new “I need these over the knee, flat boots to jazz up my post preggo wardrobe” & a “this coat will see me through the winter jamie, it can be oversized in the new year purchase” 

For babe – no new Purchases. We do need to get a monitor, sleep pod thing and of that pre made bottle ideal temp thingy OH & a baby bath seat! 

Weight – Ok , truth time. I’ve piled it on. I was sitting at a good 2 stone 2lbs up. Now I’m like entering Kardash town… oh gawd. I have bulked up – total weight gain 2 stone 8lbs. 😰it’s alright tho, I have gym trousers and tops on my Xmas list! 

Things I’m missing – Sleep & the normal thought process of a human without thinking “that was defo a contraction- this is it…..” or “I hope I don’t die in childbirth” 

that’s it from me…. peace x

Leave a Reply

